THE MARATHON OF THE WORLD ATHLETICS CHAMPIONSHIPS OREGON 22

Hayward Field Stadium, site of the events of the WA Championships Oregon 22 (photo by Chris Schiemann)

WHEN

Men’s marathon              Sunday July 17 

Women’s marathon        Monday July 18

6.15 Pacific Daylight Time / 8.15 Mexico / 10.15 Argentina /

15.15 Central European Time (Spain, France, Italy, Germany)

 

THE COURSE

The marathon will follow a mostly flat 14-kilometer looped course through Eugene and Springfield, starting and finishing in front of the University of Oregon’s Autzen Stadium.

It will follow long sections of the marathon course of the 1972 and 1976 U.S. Olympic Trials, trying to showcase the beauty and history of Oregon through the landmarks and landscapes.

 

THE QUALIFICATION

By achieving the Entry Standard in the 18 months from 30 November 2020 to 29 May 2022.

*Qualifying Time, QT

For men: 2.11.30

For women: 2.29.30

By the Finishing Position: the top 10 finishers at the Platinum Label Marathons during the qualification period.

By Wild Card for defending World Champions of Doha 2019.

Note: the maximum quota per country is 3 athletes (or 4 in case of a Wild Card).

Oregon 22 World Championships Marathon Course

THE MEN

70 runners from 34 countries.

Full teams (3 or more present runners): Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Israel, Japan, Kenya, Mongolia, Morocco, Uganda and US.

Most powerful team: Ethiopia, with most of the best QTs and Mosinet Geremew, silver medallist from the World Championships of Doha 2019, with a PB of 2.02.55.

Absent Eliud Kipchoge, from Kenya, more focused on completing his winning streak of World Marathon Majors, it is also worth to mention the Japanese and Moroccan teams (three runners each with QTs sub 2.08), the young Brazilian Daniel Do Nascimento (third best QT and South American record holder with 2.04.51) or the US team, with the experienced Galen Rupp (QT 2.06.35). A note also for the Mongolian team, a nation with no much history in the marathon distance, which will presumably have 3 runners in the start line.

 

THE WOMEN

48 runners from 26 countries.

Full teams (3 or more present runners): Canada, Ethiopia, UK, Japan, Kenya, Peru and US.

Most powerful team: Kenya, which includes the defending World Champion from Doha 2019 Ruth Chepngetich, and the Olympic gold medallist of Tokyo 2021 Peres Jepchirchir, both of them with PBs below 2.18.

Other top contenders for the victory could be Ashete Bekere (QT 2.17.58) and Gotytom Gebreslase (QT 2.18.18) for Ethiopia or Keira D´Amato (QT 2.19.12) for the US.

 

#Oregon22 #WorldAthleticsChampionships

Oregon’s Autzen Stadium, location of the start/finish of the marathon (photo by Bobak Ha'Eri)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.